BCCS Literary Award Winners

The Journal of the Barber Coin Collectors' Society has been published since Spring of 1989. In 1991, the BCCS had a Literary Contest for the articles in the first 12 issues, in Volumes I, II, and III. After a transition of leadership, no further contests were held until 1999, when an annual contest was created for articles in that year's issues, with the winner voted by the membership, and presented the following year.

Prizes were monetary in nature, with first place winning $50, second place $25, and third place receiving a free year's BCCS membership.

Beginning in 2016 (for the 2015 issues of the Journal), the contest has been enhanced. While the monetary prizes remain unchanged, the winner will also receive the new David Lawrence Literary Award, named in honor of David Lawrence Feigenbaum, one of the leading forces behind the creation of the BCCS, author of the original Complete Guide books on Barber coins, frequent contributor and Journal Editor, and founder of David Lawrence Rare Coins. Sadly, Dave passed away in 2002 after a battle with ALS. He remains one of the Barber greats of all time.

BCCS David Lawrence Literary Award winners:

  • 2018 - In Search of Charles Barber - John Frost
  • 2017 - Top 10 Overvalued AU Barber Dimes as a Function of Actual Scarcity - Scott Dallas
  • 2016 - Circulated Barber Half Dollars a Look Back at Two Decades of Specialization - Thomas Bush
  • 2015 - A Simple Study on the Frequency of the Center Mintmark Position of the 1897-S Barber Quarter - Thomas Bush

The past winners of the BCCS Literary Awards are as follows

  • 2014 - Where Have All the 1899-S Quarters Gone? - Tim Glaue
  • 2013 - Assembling a Set of Circulated Barber Quarters - Vernon Sebby
  • 2012 - (Nearly) Completing a Set of Barber Quarters - David Lange
  • 2011 - Reflections on Completing a Barber Set - David Lange
  • 2010 - We All Have Memories of our Favorite Dates - Steve Hustad
  • 2009 - Barber Coins: a Lifelong Addiction - David W. Lange
  • 2008 - A Lifetime of Collecting Barber Coins - William Rodriguez
  • 2007 - Estimating the Scarcity of Circulated Barber Half Dollars - Rich Dula
  • 2006 - Share Your Passion for Collecting Barber Coins - Dan Flood
  • 2005 - Barber Halves in VF-XF: One Tough Set to Complete - Dan flood
  • 2004 - Hunting Down Mid-grade Barber Halves - Robert M. Petty
  • 2003 - Tracking the Elusive 1892-O "Micro O" Half Dollar - Michael Flanagan
  • 2002 - Counterfeit 1901-S Quarters - John Frost
  • 2001 - The Grading Nuances of Circulated Barber Halves - Tyler Child
  • 2000 - winners not announced in the Journal
  • 1999 - The Survival Rate of Barber Coins in Circulation - Russell Easterbrooks
  • 1989-1991 - The Barber Dime Wreath - Russell Easterbrooks (1991)

All future winners of the new David Lawrence Literary Award will be announced at the BCCS Annual Meeting at each year's ANA convention.

  Barber Coin Collectors' Society      --      Founded 1989      --      Email:   bccs@barbercoins.org